top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJasper

I don't know.

Meaning: I do not know. / I disagree.


Extra info: In very casual conversation, "I don't know" sounds like "I dunno." In very casual texts and emails, many people write "I dunno" instead of "I don't know," but never in formal emails.


Examples:


-Do you like dancing?

-I don't know, I never tried it.


-Let's have natto for lunch.

-I don't know...

(True meaning: I don't want to.)


-The Beatles are the best band of all time.

-I don't know about that.

(True meaning: I disagree.)


-Should we visit London or Paris?

-I don't know...

(True meaning: I can't decide.)


-Who broke the computer?!

-I don't know!

(Strong "I", true meaning: Someone else, not me!)


-What should we do today?

-I don't know, what do you want to do?

(True meaning: I have no ideas.)

71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I see.

Meaning: I understand. Examples: -You must take the local train. The express train skips our station! -I see. Thank you. -I can't eat this food. -Why not? -I am allergic to it. -I see. (True Meaning:

Right?

Meaning: Am I correct?/Double-check. Examples: -The train leaves at 1pm, right? (True Meaning: Am I correct?/double-check.) -Yes. -Taxis are common in New York City, right? (True Meaning: Is it true?)

Worth it.

Meaning: A good reward. (A good thing, or a good price.) Examples: -The coffee in this cafe is expensive. -Is it worth it? (True Meaning: Is the coffee good? Should I buy it? Is the reward good?) -Yes

bottom of page